Train I Ride (Hardcover)

Train I Ride Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

This phenomenal book follows our protagonist, Ryder, and her train ride to her new guardian, an old relative that she’s never met. At only 12, her life has been harder than many adults, but as she will tell you herself, she never cries. As she gets to know the other passengers on the train, she  finds kindness she never expected, while also being forced to confront the pain of her past. Mosier explores Ryder’s emotional journey with devastating honesty and insights that actually made me gasp out loud. An absolutely incredible read!

— From Kokie's Picks

Description


4 starred reviews "Heartbreaking, hilarious, and life-affirming" (Ami Polonsky, author of Gracefully Grayson and Threads)

Rydr is on a train heading east, leaving California, where her gramma can't take care of her anymore, and traveling to Chicago, to live with an unknown relative. She brings with her a backpack, memories both happy and sad, and a box containing something very important.

As Rydr meets her fellow passengers and learns their stories, her own story begins to emerge. It's one of sadness and heartache, and one Rydr would sometimes like to forget.

But as much as Rydr may want to run away from her past, on the train she finds that hope and forgiveness are all around her, and most importantly, within her, if she's willing to look for it.

From Publishers Weekly Flying Start author Paul Mosier comes a poignant story about a young girl's travels by train from Los Angeles to Chicago in which she learns along the way that she can find family wherever she is. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Sharon Creech.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062455734
ISBN-10: 0062455737
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: January 24th, 2017
Pages: 192
Language: English