Book Prom for Jilly Gagnon, #famous

Jilly Gagnon, #famous, february 16th, book prom!

Event: Jilly Gagnon, #famous Book Prom!
When: Thursday, February 16, 7:00 pm
Where: The Odyssey Bookshop

Grab your snazziest duds and come join Jilly Gagnon at the Odyssey Bookshop for a YA Book Prom! The best dressed will receive prizes--interpret the "Book Prom" theme as you'd like: creativity, glamour, and humor are all good!

Debut author Jilly Gagnon bursts onto the scene with a story equal parts bite and romance, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Jennifer E. Smith, about falling for someone in front of everyone. 

In this modern day love story: Girl likes boy. Girl snaps photo and posts it online. Boy becomes insta-famous. And what starts out as an innocent photo turns into a whirlwind adventure that forces them both to question whether fame—and love—are worth the price…and changes both of their lives forever.

Told from alternating points of view, #famous captures the sometimes-crazy thrill ride of social media and the equally messy but wonderful moments of liking someone in real life.

 

Jilly Gagnon is currently based in Chicago, but is originally from Minnesota, a fact she'll likely inform you of within minutes of meeting you. Her humor writing, personal essays, and op-eds have appeared in Newsweek, Elle, Vanity Fair, Boston Magazine, McSweeney's Internet Tendency, The Toast, and The Hairpin, among others. She writes both humor and young adult fiction. Find her on twitter, facebook, or instagram. She's an especially good conversation partner if you love amazing cocktails, terrible television, or talking to your cats.

Event date: 
Thursday, February 16, 2017 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
The Odyssey Bookshop
9 College Street
South Hadley, MA 01075
Staff Pick Logo
#Famous Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062430038
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 14th, 2017

Such an amusing book! When a surreptitious picture of school hot guy Kyle is sent by Rachel to her best friend, it unexpectedly goes viral, changing their worlds. Kyle gains positive attention and even a talk show invite, whereas Rachel gains scorn and bullying. Clued into how hard things have been on Rachel, Kyle uses the talk show appearance to get her some positive attention, and soon things spiral into a choreographed pseudo-courtship between the two as a reoccurring segment for the talk show. What makes this book so special is that even though it touches on some tough aspects of real life (anonymous strangers sending a deluge of nasty messages to Rachel, and bullying at school), Rachel's narration never loses its sense of humor—a refreshing, more resilient take than the customary grimdark angst of YA fiction.


Search results reflect our warehouse stock, not necessarily  in-store availability. If you need to know ASAP whether we have a book on hand, please call the store at (413) 534-7307MHC Students: Please do not search for your textbooks online, as used editions and lower priced older editions will not show up.