2017 Middle Grade

2017 Odyssey Bookshop Holiday Newsletter

Middle Grade
Dog Man: A Tale of Two Kitties Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780545935210
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - August 29th, 2017

A hilarious book about Dogman and Petey and how Petey clones himself unsuccessfully, turning his clone into a curious Kitten who calls Petey "Papa." For fans of Dogman, Captain Underpants or any Dav Pilkeyy book, this book will definitely make you crack up (not literally). ~Ruby, Age 8
 


Staff Pick Logo
The First Rule of Punk Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780425290408
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 22nd, 2017

Maria Luisa, aka Malu, doesn’t often fit the image of the perfect senorita that her mother (whom she nicknames SuperMexican) wants her to be. Malu identifies more with the punk side of her heritage and can usually be found hanging out at her dad’s record store listening to loud music, wearing mismatched clothes in bright colors, and making zines. When her mother accepts a two-year professorship in Chicago, Malu has to deal with leaving her dad and his record store behind, starting a new school, and being mocked by her nemesis, Selena, who refers to her as a “coconut”. When Malu’s punk band is rejected from the school talent show for not being traditional enough, they decide to resist in the most punk way they know how; by being themselves! ~Kinsey


Staff Pick Logo
Greetings from Witness Protection! Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250107114
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 3rd, 2017

Nicki Demere is a snarky thirteen-year-old pickpocket drafted by the US government for a top-secret mission. Under the alias Charlotte Trevor, she joins a family of three going into the Witness Protection Program, testing the theory that the family will be harder to locate. She settles into her new school unders strict instructions to blend in. As per her orders, she joins exactly one extra curricular and maintains no higher or lower than a B- average (even if it means having to re-do her homework to get several answers wrong). She surprises herself by forming friendships with her shy neighbor Britt, extroverted and overachieving student council member Holly, and even, tentatively, with her new brother, Jackson. But as she becomes more invested in being Charlotte Trevor, the eventuality of the past catching up to them becomes more likely, potentially ruining her chances of being part of a normal family. ~Kinsey


Staff Pick Logo
Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781454923459
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sterling Children's Books - September 5th, 2017

Aven Green has no arms. She lost them in a wrestling match with an alligator (or so she tells the gullible new kids that ask nosy questions). This state of armlessness forces her to become a “problem-solving ninja”. The errant whispering and staring and stupid-question-asking is far outweighed by the supportive community that she has cultivated, but everything changes when her parents decide to take a job running Stagecoach Pass, a rundown theme park in Arizona. Aven struggles to adjust to the change, but when she befriends fellow misfit Connor and the two begin investigating a mystery at the park, things start to look a little less bleak. Aven is a fun and fresh heroine and her story is entertaining from start to finish! ~Kinsey

 


Staff Pick Logo
Wishtree Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250043221
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 26th, 2017

Red is an old oak tree with a story to tell. In addition to housing many animal families including skunks, owls, opossums, and a crow named Bongo, she serves as a wishtree for the neighborhood, a place where people can tie their hopes and dreams. Samar, a muslim girl, moves into the house next door and wishes for a friend. After 200 years of silently watching people make wishes, Red decides to break the rules and help Samar by making her wish come true. Despite claiming that trees don’t tell jokes, only stories, Red is a humorous narrator and interesting facts about trees and animals are woven through this story of friendship, belonging, and the power of community. ~Kinsey


Staff Pick Logo
The Witch Boy Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338089516
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - October 31st, 2017

More than anything, Aster wants to learn how to be a witch. But despite his affinity for that type of magic, his community adheres to strict gender roles. When caught spying on the girls lessons, he is admonished for his interest and pressured into following tradition by learning how to shapeshift. The only person who understands what he is going through is his friend Charlie, the type of girl who rides her bike off a cliff to prove she’s tough. When an unknown evil force begins kidnapping his male cousins, Aster knows that he is the only one who can save them. But he’ll have to break tradition and risk exile in order to do so. ~Kinsey


Staff Pick Logo
The Wonderling Cover Image
By Mira Bartok, Mira Bartok (Illustrator)
$21.99
ISBN: 9780763691219
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 26th, 2017

Miss Carbunkle’s Home for Wayward & Misbegotten Creatures is a horrible orphanage where we meet our main character. He is a creature who does not know his real name and is called Number 13 by the nasty Miss Carbunkle and her nearly as nasty right-hand Mr. Sneezeweed. Number 13 is renamed Arthur by his new and trusted friend Trinket. Arthur is a fox-like groundling who stands upright, has no tail, and is missing an ear. This book is filled with many adventures as Arthur and Trinket escape from the orphanage and come across good and evil creatures. Arthur’s goodness persists and along with a string of friends, they are triumphant in the end. Mira Bartok has written a brilliant debut with her lovely artwork throughout. I can’t wait for my granddaughters to read this splendidly imagined story. ~Joan