Out of Place (Hardcover)


Questions? Please contact us! You can also reach us at 413-534-7307 during regular store hours.

Staff Pick Logo
Out of Place Cover Image
$16.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


Cove is upset because her best friend Nina has moved away to New York. Cove thinks she has no chance of traveling to see Nina again, until she meets Jonah, a worker who is taking over for Sal for a few weeks, and watches Create You. Cove meets new friends along the way, but also makes a big mistake. Will everything work out? 

— From Makayla

Description


When twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein becomes the target of a school-wide bullying campaign, she sets out to find a way to leave her home on Martha’s Vineyard for New York City, where her best friend lives. But Cove discovers that friends can appear in the unlikeliest places, and maybe home isn’t the worst place to be after all.

Jennifer Blecher’s debut novel is a voice-driven story about bullying, friendship, and self-reliance that hits the sweet spot for fans of Ali Benjamin’s The Thing About Jellyfish and Erin Entrada Kelly’s You Go First.

Twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein’s year has gone from bad to worse. First, her best friend, Nina, moved from Martha’s Vineyard to New York City. Then, without Nina around, Cove became the target of a bullying campaign at school. Escape seems impossible.

But opportunities can appear when you least expect them. Cove’s visit to a secondhand clothing store leads her to a surprising chance to visit Nina, but only if she can win a coveted place in a kids-only design competition. Cove doesn’t know how to sew, but her friend at the retirement home, Anna, has promised to teach her. And things start really looking up when a new kid at school, Jack, begins appearing everywhere Cove goes.

Then Cove makes a big mistake. One that could ruin every good thing that has happened to her this year. One that she doesn’t know how to undo.

Jennifer Blecher’s accessible and beautifully written debut novel explores actions and consequences, loneliness, bullying, and finding your voice. This voice-driven friendship story is for fans of Rebecca Stead’s Goodbye Stranger and Jodi Kendall’s The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City.  

Includes black-and-white spot art throughout.

About the Author


Jennifer Blecher once worked as an assistant district attorney. Now she is a full-time writer and her work has appeared in both local and national magazines. She lives in Boston, Massachusetts, with her husband and their three children, but spends part of every summer on Martha’s Vineyard. www.jenniferblecher.com

Praise For…


“A tender-hearted debut that navigates the emotional waters of wanting to stay young and grow up, all at the same time.” 
— Jodi Kendall, critically-acclaimed author of THE UNLIKELY STORY OF A PIG IN THE CITY and DOG DAYS IN THE CITY

“Cove may feel out of place, but she’ll quickly find her place in readers’ hearts. Her voice glows like a Menemsha sunset in Jennifer Blecher’s moving debut.”
— Julie Berry, author of The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place

“OUT OF PLACE is sensitively observed and deeply felt, yet also light on its feet. Some of its components seem, at first, peculiarly shaped, but this I promise you: They are all part of Jennifer Blecher’s grand design. By the end, all the loose pieces come together beautifully, seamlessly, surprisingly, as if threaded with magic.”
— Jack Cheng, author of the acclaimed See You in the Cosmos
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062748591
ISBN-10: 0062748599
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: June 4th, 2019
Pages: 304
Language: English