Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers (Hardcover)


Questions? Please contact us! You can also reach us at 413-534-7307 during regular store hours.

Staff Pick Logo
Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers Cover Image
$17.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


Chess, Finn, and Emma Greystone come home one day to discover that kids sharing their names and birthdays have been kidnapped.  The next day when their mother leaves them in the care of a friend while she goes on a a strange business trip, they decide to investigate.  It only gets stranger from there on.  The book gets off to a slow start but picks up the pace near the middle.  If you like action, adventure and mystery, you'll love this first book in the Greystone Secrets series.

— From Sawyer, Age 9

Told in alternating perspectives of all three Greystone kids, The Strangers by Margaret Peterson Haddix makes sure to get readers attention in the first chapter. In this book, the Greystone siblings live with their mom in a normal sort of neighborhood. However, when they come home from school one day, they find out about three kidnapped children who have the same first and middle name and ages and birthdates to them. Are the Greystone kids  kidnapped? If not, who are these kids? Then their mom leaves on a work trip, leaving them with her friend, Mrs. Morales. After a little while, they realize that their mom isn’t on the work trip that she said she was. Where did she go and why couldn’t she tell them? As they search for their mom, they uncover some dangerous secrets.Will they be able to stay together to solve this mystery? If you like suspenseful books that are hard to put down, then this book is the one for you.

— From Katie's Picks

Spring 2019 Kids Indie Next List


“The three Greystone children live a happy and comfortable life with their mom in Ohio, but things change when three kids in Arizona are kidnapped — kids who have the same first and middle names and birthdates as Finn, Emma, and Chess Greystone. Suddenly, their mom seems distracted and takes off on short notice for what she says is a business trip, leaving the kids in the care of a woman they don’t know and with a letter written in code, a hidden room in their basement, and a tunnel that leads to... This is the first volume in an action-packed middle-grade suspense series, and I’m eager to learn what happens next!”
— Susan Posch, The Book Shoppe (IA), Boone, IA

Description


* Winter 2018-2019 Kids' Indie Next List Pick *

New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix takes readers on a thrilling adventure filled with mysteries and plot twists aplenty in this absorbing series about family and friendships. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of Ember!

What makes you you?

The Greystone kids thought they knew. Chess has always been the protector over his younger siblings, Emma loves math, and Finn does what Finn does best—acting silly and being adored. They’ve been a happy family, just the three of them and their mom.

But everything changes when reports of three kidnapped children reach the Greystone kids, and they’re shocked by the startling similarities between themselves and these complete strangers. The other kids share their same first and middle names. They’re the same ages. They even have identical birthdays. Who, exactly, are these strangers?

Before Chess, Emma, and Finn can question their mom about it, she takes off on a sudden work trip and leaves them in the care of Ms. Morales and her daughter, Natalie. But puzzling clues left behind lead to complex codes, hidden rooms, and a dangerous secret that will turn their world upside down.

Praise for The Strangers:

"A secret-stacked, thrilling series opener about perception, personal memories, and the idiosyncrasies that form individual identities." (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

About the Author


Margaret Peterson Haddix has written more than forty books for kids and teens, including the Shadow Children series, the Missing series, and the Children of Exile series. Her books have been honored with numerous awards and they’ve been translated into more than twenty languages. She lives in Columbus, Ohio. You can learn more about her at www.haddixbooks.com.

Praise For…


“Bestselling Haddix launches a new middle-grade series that blends adventure and sf elements into an engrossing mystery. The kidnapping alone could have made a compelling mystery, but Haddix throws in secret rooms, alternate realities, and a cliff-hanger ending to raise the stakes and delight fans new and old.”
— Booklist

“Masterfully plotted and filled with so many jaw-dropping twists and turns, you’ll be racing toward the end—and begging for the next book. Put simply: this is Margaret Peterson Haddix at her absolute best.”
— Shannon Messenger, author of the Keeper of the Lost Cities series

“With more twists than a spiral staircase, The Strangers kept me up way past my bedtime! This thrilling, page-turning adventure will keep you reading, and keep you guessing. Full of codes and clues, love and logic, this book will make you a part of the Greystone family.”
— Amie Kaufman, author of the Elementals series

“A hair-raising, mind-twisting adventure full of intrigue, humor, and charm. The spunky, quirky Greystones are easy to cheer for and relate to, and I can’t wait to see what happens next.”
— John David Anderson, author of Posted and Ms. Bixby’s Last Day

“Readers will come for the mystery, stay for the suspense, and linger in the Greystone kids’ world long after the final page. The Strangrs will take readers on an amazing ride they will not soon forget.”
— Jennifer Nielsen, author of The Traitor’s Game and The Ascendance Trilogy

“A highly suspenseful, delightfully clever thriller with a tinge of creepiness. Give yourself a few hours to calm down after you finish this gem!”
— Lisa McMann, author of the Unwanteds Quests series

“Maintain[s] suspense from the beginning to the cliffhanger ending . . . A high-stakes adventure full of teamwork with a multifaceted mystery and complex themes.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“[A] satisfying third-person narrative that . . . portrays the complex anxieties and internal lives of close, caring family members grappling with a single set of extraordinary circumstances—separately and together. A secret-stacked, thrilling series opener about perception, personal memories, and the idiosyncrasies that form individual identities.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062838377
ISBN-10: 0062838377
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: April 2nd, 2019
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: Greystone Secrets