Search results are updated once every 24 hours and do not always reflect in-store availability. If the book you are looking for is not in stock, we are always happy to order it for you!

Star Daughter (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Star Daughter Cover Image
$17.99
Not in Stock

Staff Reviews


In this luminous debut, celestial courts and messy coming of age twine together in a duality of harmony and discordance. Sheetal is the daughter of a star, but feels very human: trying to escape the scrutiny of strict aunts and navigate her father's grief with her mother gone. But the star side of her is breaking through and it's getting too hard to hide--especially when she doesn't exactly know what is happening.

When her ignorance of her own power goes deeply wrong, she seeks help from the heavenly side of her family. The opulent heavenly realm glitters--and reminds her of all that's been withheld from her. She's thrust into a contest where mortals compete, inspired by stars--and realizes that something is at stake for the whole mortal world in the competition. Sheetal has to figure out how to defy powerful immortals and still obtain the favor she desperately needs.

This quest is driven by a keen mix of guilt and love. Her need to discover her potential while integrating both sides of her identity is also intensely relatable. How do you choose to belong to both and see both the wonder as well as the flaws in homes that seem set against each other?

In the end, Sheetal must trust her loved ones (friends and family) while still holding to her own convictions. Her future between these two communities isn't sewn up neatly, but she has come into her own. I loved the way Thakrar portrayed Sheetal's ambivalence and longing for both of her worlds, and the course that brought her to deeper friendship and community with those she loved.

— From Bethany's Picks

Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List


Star Daughter follows Sheetal, a half-star, half-mortal girl. When her star power injures her human father, Sheetal must seek the help of her mother, a star who returned to the heavens long ago. Sheetal soon finds herself representing her family in a magical competition that will decide the next ruling house of heaven. A standalone fantasy, Star Daughter reads like a diverse version of Stardust that is all its own, taking inspiration from Hindu mythology. With prose the likes of Laini Taylor and Margaret Rogerson, Shveta Thakrar has a bright future in YA literature.”
— Isabella Ogbolumani, Buffalo Street Books, Ithaca, NY

Description


*Chosen as a 2020 Kids’ Indie Next pick * A Locus Reading List recommendation * An Andre Norton Nebula Award Finalist*

“Shveta Thakrar's prose is as beautiful as starlight.”—New York Times bestselling author Holly Black

This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy.

The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be “normal.” But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star’s help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago.

Sheetal’s quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family’s champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens—and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all.

Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor. 

About the Author


Shveta Thakrar’s debut novel, Star Daughter, is a standalone YA fantasy perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Laini Taylor, and Margaret Rogerson. Shveta's work has appeared in a number of magazines and anthologies, including Enchanted Living, Uncanny Magazine, and Toil & Trouble. You can find her online at www.shvetathakrar.com and on Twitter and Instagram at @ShvetaThakrar.

Praise For…


"Take a journey to the heavenly courts in this luscious, shimmering fantasy, so dripping with beauty and imagination you’ll want to eat it with a spoon.”
New York Times bestselling author Laini Taylor

"My favorite tales are the ones that sneakily draw you out of one world and slip you into the next. This is one of those. I emerged from Star Daughter dusted with constellations and wonder. Thakrar's imagination is a feast for the senses."
— Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen and The Gilded Wolves

“Nothing short of dazzling.”
Booklist

"Absolutely magical and captivatingly lyrical."
— Sandhya Menon, New York Times bestselling author of When Dimple Met Rishi

“Shveta Thakrar's prose is as beautiful as starlight.”
— Holly Black, New York Times bestselling author

“An enchanting story about love, family, finding your voice, and searching for home. Thakrar’s sparkling command of language weaves magic on every page. This book is a joy, and will speak to anyone who yearns to belong.”
— Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn and Kingsbane

“A magical debut full of wonder, wit, myths, and adventure. Reading Thakrar's words is like swimming through the most beautiful imagination—every page is a delight."
— Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire

"A gorgeously written tale of magic and family, of finding and fighting for your place, Star Daughter has a heart that shines as brilliantly as its celestial court."
— S. A. Chakraborty, author of the bestselling Daevabad Trilogy

“Full of wonder and enchantment. Thakrar has crafted an excellent story about the power of the younger generations to carve their own path amidst the traditions and expectations of their elders.” 
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"Shveta Thakrar’s writing shines as bright as any star."
— Laura Sebastian, New York Times bestselling author of the Ash Princess series

“Luminously beautiful, with a mythic heart.”
— Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand

“Absolutely magical. Thakrar weaves her words so tightly around you that you are completely immersed in her world, a victim of its lyrical starsong.”
— Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy series and editor of A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

“Radiant. Readers will be enchanted by Sheetal and the starry court.”
— Kristen Ciccarelli, internationally bestselling author of The Last Namsara

“A wondrous delight, Shveta Thakrar’s debut is a feast for the senses.”
— Cindy Pon, author of Want and Serpentine

Star Daughter is a love letter to every desi girl wanting to believe in her own magic.”
— Tanaz Bhathena, author of A Girl Like That and Hunted by the Sky

“A dreamy, diasporic, diverse fantasy. A story about stars, yes—and about family, friends, falling in love, and finding your voice, your place. Places. A shimmering debut.”
— Tanuja Desai Hidier, author of Born Confused and sequel Bombay Blues

“A luminous debut. Star Daughter’s sparkling coming-of-age tale of transformation and love is among the best kinds of fantasy: one that reminds us to reach for the stars while keeping our feet firmly on the ground.”
— Fran Wilde, Nebula Award-winning author of The Bone Universe series and Riverland

“A stunning tale of self-acceptance, family, and liminal spaces.”

— Jacqueline Koyanagi
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062894625
ISBN-10: 0062894625
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: August 11th, 2020
Pages: 448
Language: English