We Speak in Storms (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
We Speak in Storms Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Nov 19 1:30pm
(TEEN)

Staff Reviews


While I don’t usually read ghost stories, I think I would regret not reading this one. I like how the book switches the point of view between the ghosts and the three main characters Joshua, Brenna, and Callie. It highlights the struggles between all of the characters and what they have to live with. They all come from very different families. Callie has an eating disorder while Callie’s mother has cancer, Joshua, who is gay, constantly has to deal with homophobia and learn to live with his stepfather, and Brenna who has to grow up with a pressuring Hispanic family and deals with cruel names. They find that each of them connects with the ghost that comes to find them. And, they grow closer as friends while figuring out how to change their lives for the better. I adored the book and I’m excited for the debuting author. 

— From Maya

Description


A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

It's been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens -- a whole generation of Mercerites -- dead in its wake. So when another tornado touches down in the exact same spot on the anniversary of this small-town tragedy, the town is shaken. For Brenna Ortiz, Joshua Calloway, and Callie Keller, the apprehension is more than just a feeling. Though they seem to share nothing more than a struggle to belong, the teens' paths continue to intersect, bringing them together when they least expect it, and perhaps, when they need it most. Both the living and the dead have secrets and unresolved problems, but they may be able to find peace and move forward--if only they work together.

A beautifully told, haunting yet hopeful novel about pushing past the pain, facing the world, and finding yourself.

Praise for We Speak in Storms:

"A hauntingly atmospheric coming-of-age story . . . with fully realized characters, an empowering message, and a highly satisfying conclusion." --SLJ

"A lingering, quietly paced story about the echoes of trauma and the persistence of hope." --Booklist

"This suspenseful novel . . . immediately grabs the reader's attention . . . [Readers] will be eager to find out what happens next." --SLC

About the Author


Natalie Lund (natalielund.com) is a former middle and high school teacher. A graduate of Purdue University's MFA program, she taught introductory composition and creative writing there, and also served as the fiction editor of The Sycamore Review. Natalie lives in Chicago with her husband. You can follow her on Twitter @nmlund.

Praise For…


Praise for We Speak in Storms:

"A hauntingly atmospheric coming-of-age story . . . with fully realized characters, an empowering message, and a highly satisfying conclusion." --SLJ

"A lingering, quietly paced story about the echoes of trauma and the persistence of hope." --Booklist

"This suspenseful novel . . . immediately grabs the reader’s attention . . . [Readers] will be eager to find out what happens next." --SLC
Product Details
ISBN: 9780525518006
ISBN-10: 0525518002
Publisher: Philomel Books
Publication Date: September 3rd, 2019
Pages: 464