Heads of the Colored People: Stories (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Heads of the Colored People: Stories Cover Image
$23.00
On Our Shelves Now
28 on hand, as of Jun 23 12:45am
(LITERATURE)

Staff Reviews


The debut story collection totally blew me away, particularly the eponymous first story, which is a true powerhouse. Subtitled "Four Fancy Sketches, Two Chalk Outlines, and No Apology," it plays with the fourth wall, turns readerly expectations upside-down, and then utterly guts you.  Spires Thompson's narrative voice is so distinct, so assured, that it defies belief that it's her first book. Edgy but always accessible, she's a new literary talent to be reckoned with, perfect for fans of Junot Diaz or Roxane Gay.
— From Emily's Picks

Description


Calling to mind the best works of Paul Beatty and Junot D az, this collection of moving, timely, and darkly funny stories examines the concept of black identity in this so-called post-racial era.

A stunning new talent in literary fiction, Nafissa Thompson-Spires grapples with black identity and the contemporary middle class in these compelling, boundary-pushing vignettes.

Each captivating story plunges headfirst into the lives of new, utterly original characters. Some are darkly humorous--from two mothers exchanging snide remarks through notes in their kids' backpacks, to the young girl contemplating how best to notify her Facebook friends of her impending suicide--while others are devastatingly poignant--a new mother and funeral singer who is driven to madness with grief for the young black boys who have fallen victim to gun violence, or the teen who struggles between her upper middle class upbringing and her desire to fully connect with black culture.

Thompson-Spires fearlessly shines a light on the simmering tensions and precariousness of black citizenship. Her stories are exquisitely rendered, satirical, and captivating in turn, engaging in the ongoing conversations about race and identity politics, as well as the vulnerability of the black body. Boldly resisting categorization and easy answers, Nafissa Thompson-Spires is an original and necessary voice in contemporary fiction.


Coverage from NPR

Product Details
ISBN: 9781501167997
ISBN-10: 1501167995
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication Date: April 10th, 2018
Pages: 224
Language: English