The Lewis Man: The Lewis Trilogy (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Lewis Man: The Lewis Trilogy Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

The Lewis Man by Peter May. This is the second Peter May mystery I read and I’m dying to read the next one. The trilogy begins with The Blackhouse which is now out in paperback. The books are set on the ever fascinating islands of the Outer Hebrides, Scotland. Island born Fin McLeod has left his detective career in Edinburgh. Within days of returning to his parents’ dilapidated crofthouse on the Isle of Lewis he becomes deeply involved in the investigation of a mummified body discovered in a peat bog. The beauty of the islands, the rugged weather and the stalwart people of Lewis are as much a part of the story as discovering the identity of the bog man with the Elvis tattoo and who murdered him.  I don’t read many mysteries, but I am always delighted to find a great writer and a new series.

— From Joan's Picks


Marilyn Stasio in The New York Times raved: "Peter May is a writer I'd follow to the ends of the earth." Among the many honors received, The Blackhouse, the first novel in May's acclaimed Lewis trilogy, won the Barry and Crime Thriller Hound awards.
In The Lewis Man, the second book of the trilogy, Fin Macleod has returned to the Isle of Lewis, the storm-tossed, wind-scoured outer Hebridean island where he was born and raised. Having left behind his adult life in Edinburgh--including his wife and his career in the police force--the former Detective Inspector is intent on repairing past relationships and restoring his parents' derelict cottage. His plans are interrupted when an unidentified corpse is recovered from a Lewis peat bog. The only clue to its identity is a DNA match to a local farmer, the now-senile Tormod Macdonald--the father of Fin's childhood sweetheart, Marsaili--a man who has claimed throughout his life to be an only child, practically an orphan. Reluctantly drawn into the investigation, Fin uncovers deep family secrets even as he draws closer to the killer who wishes to keep them hidden.
Already an international bestseller and winner of numerous awards, including France's Prix des Lecteurs du Telegramme, The Lewis Man has the lyrical verve of Ian Rankin and the gutsy risk-taking of Benjamin Black. As fascinating and forbidding as the Hebridean landscape, the book (according to The Times) "throbs with past and present passions, jealousies, suspicions and regrets; the emotional secrets of the bleak island are even deeper than its peat bog.

About the Author

Peter May is the multi award-winning author of the internationally best-selling Lewis Trilogy set in the Outer Hebrides of Scotland; the China Thrillers, featuring Beijing detective Li Yan and American forensic pathologist Margaret Campbell; the critically-acclaimed Enzo Files, featuring Scottish forensic scientist Enzo MacLeod, which is set in France; and Entry Island. One of Scotland's most prolific television dramatists, he garnered more than a thousand credits in fifteen years as scriptwriter and script editor on prime-time British television drama. He is the creator of three major television drama series and presided over two of the highest-rated serials in his homeland before quitting television to concentrate on his first love, writing novels.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781623654481
ISBN-10: 1623654483
Publisher: Quercus Books
Publication Date: June 2nd, 2015
Language: English