Search results are updated once every 4 hours and do not always reflect in-store availability. If the book you are looking for is not in stock, we are always happy to order it for you!

Firefighters to the Rescue! (Breezy Valley at Work) (Hardcover)

Firefighters to the Rescue! (Breezy Valley at Work) By R.W. Alley Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Apr 24 12:05am

Description


For fans of Richard Scarry and Busytown, here is a funny and informative picture book all about firefighters that features lively animal characters, a rollicking story, and detail-packed illustrations.

Firefighters to the rescue! The officers of Breezy Valley answer the call to protect their beloved town. Ladders, axes, and water hoses take center stage as the firefighters rescue the tabby cat twins, put out blazes, and save not only lives—but also the town ice cream parlor! Lively action, equipment details, cross-section pictures and more will keep young firefighter fans engaged throughout this delightful story.

“This is great fun and works so well. Full of life, humor and real information. The perfect combination. I had a smile on my face from the very beginning. It only disappeared a couple of times… when I was laughing.”
—Caldecott Medalist David Macaulay, author of The Way Things Work, Cathedral, Pyramid, Castle, and Mosque

About the Author


R.W. Alley is the author and illustrator of many children’s books. For more than 20 years, he has been the illustrator of the revived Paddington Bear series, across multiple formats. Other recent work includes There’s a Princess in the Palace: Five Classic Tales Retold, and Mitchell on the Moon. He received the Rhode Island Mock Caldecott Award for There’s a Wolf at The Door, and a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book for Pearl and Wagner: One Funny Day. Books he has illustrated have been selected by Junior Library Guild and included in lists such as ALA Notable Books for Children, Bank Street Best Book of the Year, Notable Children’s Books in the Language Arts, among others.

Praise For…


"Bustling scenes will keep readers searching for stories within the story. The main narrative, conveyed in blocky black text, can be followed easily, while the use of speech bubbles in the art adds to the fun. Early on, an elaborately labeled illustration of turnout gear is followed by diagrams of pumper and ladder engines and brush-breaker trucks, making this a true love letter to firefighters and their tools...Classic in style, rich in information, and sweet in story." —Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9781662670275
ISBN-10: 1662670273
Publisher: Kane Press
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English
Series: Breezy Valley at Work