Search results are updated once every 4 hours and do not always reflect in-store availability. If the book you are looking for is not in stock, we are always happy to order it for you!

Eliana Hernández-Pachón in Person

Join us on Thursday, April 18 at 7 PM as Eliana Hernández-Pachón  reads from her new collection, The Brush: Poems.

Please register by clicking here

About the Book

A wise, visionary debut on ecological and human resistance, perfect for readers of Joy Harjo and Tracy K. Smith, and fans of the earth-body artwork of Ana Mendieta

The Brush is an incantatory, fearless exploration of collective trauma – and its horrific relevance in today’s Colombia, where mass killings continue. Told from the voices Pablo, Ester, and the Brush itself, Hernández-Pachón’s poem is an astounding response to a traumatic event in recent Colombian history: the massacre in the village of El Salado between February 16 and 21, 2000. Paramilitary forces tortured and killed sixty people, interspersing their devastating violence with music in the town square.

Pablo Rodríguez steps thirteen paces out into the night and buries a wooden box. Its contents: a chain, a medallion, a few overexposed photographs, and finally, a deed. He burrows into the ground without knowing quite why, but with the certainty of a heavy change pressing through the air, of fear settling “like a cat in his throat.” Meanwhile, his wife Ester – a sharpshooter and keeper of all village secrets – slips into her fifth dream of the night. As Ester tosses and Pablo pats his fresh mound of earth, another character emerges in Eliana Hernández-Pachón’s vivid and prophetic triptych.

The Brush is a tangled grove, a thicket of vines, an orchid pummeled with rain. It is also an extraordinary depiction of ecological resistance, of the natural world that both endures human cruelty and lives on in spite of it.

About the Author

Eliana Hernández-Pachón is a writer, translator, and educator born in Bogotá, Colombia. The Brush received the Colombia National Poetry Prize in 2020, making Hernández-Pachón the youngest poet to ever receive this honor. She is part of Como un lugar, a poetry collective that runs an independent press in Buenos Aires and organizes a literary festival in NYC. She lives in Brooklyn

Register

This event is free and open to the public, but we ask that you RSVP by registering at Eventbrite by clicking here.

 

 

Event date: 
Thursday, April 18, 2024 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
9 College St
South Hadley, MA 01075
Staff Pick Badge
The Brush: Poems By Eliana Hernández-Pachón, Robin Myers (Translated by), Hector Abad (Afterword by) Cover Image
By Eliana Hernández-Pachón, Robin Myers (Translated by), Hector Abad (Afterword by)
$17.00
ISBN: 9781953861863
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Archipelago - April 2nd, 2024

Author Photo: 
Event Category :