February First Editions Club - Leni Zumas, Red Clocks

When: Saturday, January 27, 4:00pm
Where: The Odyssey Bookshop
 
In conversation with Pulitzer Prize Finalist Kelly Link, author of The Summer People, Get in Trouble: Stories, and Magic for Beginners
 
 
Five women. One question. What is a woman for?

In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.

Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro’s best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or “mender,” who brings all their fates together when she’s arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.

Red Clocks is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking The Handmaid's Tale for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times
 
Leni Zumas is the author of the story collection Farewell Navigator and the novel The Listeners, which was a finalist for the Oregon Book Award. She is an associate professor in the MFA Program in Creative Writing at Portland State University.
 
Event date: 
Saturday, January 27, 2018 - 4:00pm
Event address: 
The Odyssey Bookshop
9 College st.
South Hadley, MA 01075
Red Clocks Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316434812
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - January 16th, 2018