Kate's Picks

Books: 
Staff Pick Badge
She Was Like That: New and Selected Stories Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781476799421
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - October 1st, 2019

This creative and spunky collection of short stories centers itself around the life of the urban woman and all of the conundrums that her life entails. From a mother-daughter trip to M&M World gone wrong to a woman’s attempt to bring her family closer together with a game the Obamas play at the dinner table, the pieces in this book are guaranteed to be a page-turner. Despite the plot lines of each story being completely unique, the author’s witty writing style is interwoven throughout. I found it fascinating that one could portray such typical, everyday experiences in such an entertaining and captivating way. Relatable and poignant, Kate Walbert provides an entertaining read perfect for your book club or your next relaxing vacation.


Staff Pick Badge
The Hate U Give Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062498533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 28th, 2017

16 year old Starr Carter is caught between two worlds- the elite, majority-white private school she attends and the poorer neighborhood she calls home. When she witnesses the death of her best friend at the hands of a white police officer, Starr is immediately catapulted into the spotlight. Amidst her grief, she finds her voice to call attention to the racism that plagues her city and the unjust treatment of marginalized communities. Through the lens of an adolescent girl, Angie Thomas’s debut novel paints a brutally real portrait of a racialized America and the enduring injustice that permeates our existence.

 


Staff Pick Badge
Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780062316110
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - May 15th, 2018

This incredible text by Yuval Noah Harari presents an engaging  introductory view on the history of homo sapiens as a species. Written in a captivating style that is easy to digest, I couldn’t get enough of this book. Don’t let the size of the book fool you: the beautiful color photographs and insightful anecdotes made reading this book fun and stimulating. If your interests lie in sociology, anthropology, history or all of the above, this is your next favorite read.


Staff Pick Badge
The Dreamers: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812994162
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - January 15th, 2019

When a mysterious sleeping sickness rests on a California town, every resident is thrown into a spiral of worry. Where is this plague coming from? When will it end? Following various characters in the wake of the sickness, the reader watches with bated breath as members of the community band together, some for support and others out of necessity. The author’s detailed writing style adds to the suspense, for it paints a vivid and eerily real picture of a world turned upside down. This newest novel by Karen Thompson Walker will have you sitting on the edge of your seat in captivating anticipation.


Staff Pick Badge
The Most Fun We Ever Had: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385544252
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - June 25th, 2019

Claire Lombardo’s debut novel dives into the hidden complexities within a seemingly perfect family. Marilyn and David, married for decades with four grown daughters, are still madly in love but constantly being tested by the trials and tribulations of daily life. The reader gets an in-depth view of each character’s unique personality (while family secrets are uncovered along the way). They see how Marilyn and David’s love story unfolds and is constantly tested, but never wavers. Fans of Ann Patchett will love this book, for it is a true testament to the depth of family ties in spite of overwhelming challenges.


Staff Pick Badge
Tell Me Everything: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984817211
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - July 16th, 2019

Riveting, mysterious, and eerily real, Tell Me Everything follows a group of six, tight-knit friends through their four years at a small, liberal arts college in Maine. Told from the perspective of the quiet and beautiful Malin, the reader gradually uncovers surprising, and often disturbing, anecdotes of the group’s past. But with an impending murder plot in the works, what will become of these best friends? Cambria Brockman’s debut novel is a vivid snapshot of the unpredictable, and often secretive,  nature of friendships in young adulthood. For fans of The Secret History and Gone Girl, this captivating clash of realistic fiction and mystery/thriller is a must-read.


Staff Pick Badge
When You Read This: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062834676
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - February 5th, 2019

This entertaining novel by Mary Adkins is a glance into the complexity of emotions that develop in the wake of grief. Written in a creative and easy-to-read epistolary style, the story follows the correspondence of the individuals who had connections to the late Iris Massey, who passed away from cancer at the young age of 33. Through emails and text messages, the reader gets an inside look at the ways in which the novel’s characters cope with the loss of Iris in their own ways, as well as form connections with each other. “When You Read This” serves as a testament to the fact that love and intimate connection can be found even after experiencing a loss. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Last Romantics: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062358202
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - February 5th, 2019

Heartwarming and beautifully written, The Last Romantics is a story that portrays the  joy, pain, and complexities of family dynamics. The reader follows the life of accomplished author Fiona Skinner and discovers how her relationships with her mother and each of her siblings evolves through the decades. The relatability of the characters will have whomever opens this novel laughing and crying right beside them until the very end. 


Staff Pick Badge
Autocomplete: The Game: – An Autocorrect Guessing Game for Adults, For 3-10 Players, Ages 18+, Funny After Dinner Party Games for a Group Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781452178004
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - September 24th, 2019

Do you find yourself saying, “Let’s Google it!” whenever someone around you as a question? If Google is your go-to search engine for fast facts, then this is the game for you. Players aim to correctly guess as many of the top-ten Google searches for the given prompts such as “Are babies able to…” and “What happens when you water a plant with…” Gather three to ten of your friends to play, and prepare for a half hour of laughter. And, who knows? Maybe that question you thought of on your way to work last week just might get answered!