Kate's Picks

Books: 
Staff Pick Badge
The Dreamers: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812994162
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - January 15th, 2019

When a mysterious sleeping sickness rests on a California town, every resident is thrown into a spiral of worry. Where is this plague coming from? When will it end? Following various characters in the wake of the sickness, the reader watches with bated breath as members of the community band together, some for support and others out of necessity. The author’s detailed writing style adds to the suspense, for it paints a vivid and eerily real picture of a world turned upside down. This newest novel by Karen Thompson Walker will have you sitting on the edge of your seat in captivating anticipation.


Staff Pick Badge
The Most Fun We Ever Had: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385544252
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Doubleday - June 25th, 2019

Claire Lombardo’s debut novel dives into the hidden complexities within a seemingly perfect family. Marilyn and David, married for decades with four grown daughters, are still madly in love but constantly being tested by the trials and tribulations of daily life. The reader gets an in-depth view of each character’s unique personality (while family secrets are uncovered along the way). They see how Marilyn and David’s love story unfolds and is constantly tested, but never wavers. Fans of Ann Patchett will love this book, for it is a true testament to the depth of family ties in spite of overwhelming challenges.


Staff Pick Badge
Tell Me Everything: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984817211
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ballantine Books - July 16th, 2019

Riveting, mysterious, and eerily real, Tell Me Everything follows a group of six, tight-knit friends through their four years at a small, liberal arts college in Maine. Told from the perspective of the quiet and beautiful Malin, the reader gradually uncovers surprising, and often disturbing, anecdotes of the group’s past. But with an impending murder plot in the works, what will become of these best friends? Cambria Brockman’s debut novel is a vivid snapshot of the unpredictable, and often secretive,  nature of friendships in young adulthood. For fans of The Secret History and Gone Girl, this captivating clash of realistic fiction and mystery/thriller is a must-read.


Staff Pick Badge
When You Read This: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062834676
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - February 5th, 2019

This entertaining novel by Mary Adkins is a glance into the complexity of emotions that develop in the wake of grief. Written in a creative and easy-to-read epistolary style, the story follows the correspondence of the individuals who had connections to the late Iris Massey, who passed away from cancer at the young age of 33. Through emails and text messages, the reader gets an inside look at the ways in which the novel’s characters cope with the loss of Iris in their own ways, as well as form connections with each other. “When You Read This” serves as a testament to the fact that love and intimate connection can be found even after experiencing a loss. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Last Romantics: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062358202
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - February 5th, 2019

Heartwarming and beautifully written, The Last Romantics is a story that portrays the  joy, pain, and complexities of family dynamics. The reader follows the life of accomplished author Fiona Skinner and discovers how her relationships with her mother and each of her siblings evolves through the decades. The relatability of the characters will have whomever opens this novel laughing and crying right beside them until the very end.